Thursday, December 6, 2012

New Carpet

We recently got new carpet for our basement.  We had bare cement before and the carpet is a welcome sight.  The cement floors were causing us to cough quite a bit too.  I guess it was from the cement dust down there.  We have enjoyed being in the basement lately, enjoying the warmth of the family room.  It is a nice extra space in our home.  I am glad it is done.

Texting While Driving

Several states now have laws against texting while driving.  I agree it is a very dangerous thing to do when driving.  There have been many accidents related to this.  I personally think anything that distracts a driver is a bad thing and I think there should be laws in place and hefty fines to be paid.  There are some that read or eat while driving too.  Please don't do anything while driving that will distract you and cause an accident.

Challenge Coins

With Christmas upon us you may be wondering what to purchase for that individual who has everything.  Well, there is always the unique and personal here for challenge coins.  You can have them made up for just about anything.  The site is easy and reasonable.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Monday, November 12, 2012


My daughters children recently had a picture taken together.  It turned out so cute.  They are such sweet children.

Dutch Masters

Growing up my dad loved to smoke.  He had the habit since he was quite young.  He learned to roll his own cigarettes and enjoyed a good pipe.  He also liked to smoke Dutch Masters cigars along with others.  He never gave it up.  It was an enjoyable past time for him I guess.

Otterbox iphone 5

My youngest son and son-in-law are into the latest technology.  They seem to often talk me into purchasing a new phone or some type of electronics that may go along with that or a computer.  I don't always understand it, but they sure do.  The otterbox iphone 5 looks interesting.  I may have to ask them about that.  It's nice to know someone who can answer all those questions you are unable to answer yourself.

Grass Seeding

It is fall and time to seed our yard.  It has been seeded before but with the drought this past summer we had to do it again.  We used a small gas powered, self propelled seeder.  It worked great but we ran out of seed just before getting the job done.  That was 50 pounds of grass seed.  I am sure next spring our yard will be looking great.  I am hoping it will look better than ever before.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Nylon Levelers

When moving into our new home we found that there were many things we were in need of.  For some of our furniture we needed nylon levelers.  It's amazing all of the little things that you don't really think about needing.  We're sure glad for all we have.

Sunday, October 7, 2012


My cousin recently one the blue ribbon at the State Fair for her peach pie!  Of course I made sure that I got her recipe.  I still need to try it out.  It sounds really good!

Flat Panel Mounts

We have been working on our basement for several months now.  We are just about done. Now comes the fun part!  I am setting up and decorating.  We needed some flat panel mounts for our TVs.  Our exercise room needed to have the TV mounted high on the wall.  Now I'm all set to get into shape!!

Jandy Aqualink

For years my sister has had a swimming pool.  She enjoys being out there on a hot day.  I have spent some time there also.  I know when owning a pool there is a lot of maintenance that comes along with them.  There are jandy aqualink products that can assist in that care.  But she does feel that it is very worth while.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Happy Birthday Dad!

My dad went home to be with his Lord and Savior just over a year ago.  He was celebrating his birthday in heaven!  I'm sure it was quite the party!  We miss and love you dad.....

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Real Estate Highlands NC

My husband and I are quickly approaching our retirement years.  We are trying to get our ducks in a row, so to speak.  We've been talking about what we might enjoy doing in those years.  I've heard that real estate highlands nc area is worth checking out.  It might be fun to travel out there in the winter months and have some where set up to stay while away.  I'm sure it would be quite enjoyable.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Guest Book/Canvas

At my son's wedding they decided to have this canvas as their guest book. I thought it was quite unique. By the end the tree was
full of thumb prints and signatures. It was very neat. Now they have it framed and displayed in their home.

Best yoga mats here!

Today you find that health fitness is at the top of the list for many. Whether it's a great exercise program or a new diet. Some enjoy yoga. With the best yoga mats here in the area. It can make the time spent more relaxing. Not only that, but a person can find all the yoga gear they are needing just by a click. I may have to check into this myself.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Online data back up

I've been considering a new computer. In doing so my son has been talking to me about an online data back up or at least having a way to back up my information. It would be difficult if I were to lose all that I have done on my current computer. The hours one puts in on a computer would probably be quite shocking.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Fun in the sun!

Our youngest son Jake and his beautiful bride recently traveled to gorgeous Jamaica. They had so much fun scuba diving, zip lining and swimming. They said they would return in a heart beat.

Friday, August 3, 2012

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Where to buy the Baby Jogger City Select

My daughter has three small children. They are so precious. As they have added these precious little ones to their family, they were in need of bigger strollers. She sought out Where to buy the Baby Jogger City Select. They have such a neat selection to choose from. With mom's wanting to stay in shape, these strollers can assist in that pursuit

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Parade Fun

It's that time of year! Our daughter's family took in a local parade recently. The kids love to run for the candy. Looked like they had "bagged" a lot!

Monday, July 16, 2012

Fine Mailboxes

Today they make much better community mailboxes than they used to make. We bought a new home and it seems the entire neighborhood has purchased these fine mailboxes. Where there are many apartments you see apt mailboxes grouped together for everyone's convenience. In the commercial district, you often see commercial cluster mailboxes, as well. Where we used to live they had group mailboxes with three or four mailboxes in one spot to make it easier for the mailman. My Mom lives in a trailer court so they have multi unit mailboxes altogether and everyone goes to the same place to get their mail. They are locked and water proof so the mail is kept dry and safe. She has a key to get into her mailbox. If you order from a reliable company that makes all kinds of mailboxes, you can find the one or ones you need. I found you can also call them and get advice on what would be best for you and they have a toll free phone number.

Sunday, July 8, 2012


As we all know November and election time will be here soon. I am pretty tired of the negative campaign ads already. I want to vote for someone that says positive things, even about their opponent. To tear down the others running is just getting very old. How about running positive ads for a change? I think that some are pretty close to being lies and that just isn't right. It's not worth being deceitful to gain office. I wish everyone running would agree.

kaplan gre practice test

When my children were looking into grad school, they found that they had to test. A kaplan gre practice test would have been a great way to prepare. Often this score is needed for entry into some universities. There is a lot of demand put on an individual who wants to continue on with his or her education. It's so important today in the work market.

They seem to make everything these days. Knee walkers at I had never heard of them before. For those of you who have experienced an injury below the knee, this may just be the ticket for you. For that added assistance a person may be needing for a time. I recently had surgery below my knee and an infection set in. It has been quite painful and swollen. I'm sure thankful for healthy legs.


We recently did some landscaping around our home. It was quickly figured out that my husband and I never want to this work full-time. It is a lot of work! A skid loader would have been a great help but a shovel, rake and wheelbarrow was what we had to work with. We worked for much of the day and the end result was wonderful. I appreciate those people that do this work for a living. It is no wonder that it costs so much to do.
My husband commented that he didn't think we would get the work done in just one day. I think that huge pile of rock was forming a negative mind frame for him. But we did get the work done and it looks great.

Steel Building Canada

We have friends that have worked for many years putting up huge buildings. These quick steel building canada and other locations, are a nice way to go when needing storage of that size and magnitude. Our oldest son has a large building and it comes in handy for storing equipment, motorhomes, boats and other large items. My dad would have loved one of those.

Engraved Name Badges

I have worked in a field for most of my life where we where engraved name badges. I guess it's a nice way for patients to address us and also lets them know who they are dealing with or have dealt with. In some ways it can keep a person accountable. You will find that type of name badge in many professions. I personally think it's a great idea.

Psoriasis Symptoms

A person can experience dry skin in the winter months. When summer appears we can see eczema and Psoriasis Symptoms. There are many ways that an individual may try for treatment of these conditions. I know my grand son suffers with allergies and itchy skin. There are times when it seems to flare up much worse. Poor baby.

Monday, June 4, 2012


Our youngest grandson found his feet! He has more fun playing and chewing on them!

Cheap Jewelry Online

I have always enjoyed jewelry. Whether its real jewelry or costume jewelry it's fun to wear. It is such a neat accessory to an outfit. It can really make it pop. You can find cheap jewelry online too. It's great to have something new and different to wear.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Photographers in raleigh nc

A few years back we took a trip with our daughter and her husband. This was before the grandchildren came along. We went out to North Carolina and had such a nice time together. We found that photographers in raleigh nc had it easy. There was such beauty there so it made their jobs easier to produce beautiful pictures. We would travel there again.

Friday, May 25, 2012

Storage lockers

Through out the years while our children were in college, we found ourselves moving them from dorm rooms to home and back again. at times u found we needed extra storage lockers to hold all of their stuff. We just didn't have enough room for it all at home. It worked out pretty well.

Friday, May 11, 2012


Recently we met our family at a big Mall for a Build-a-Bear party. I didn't know they did such a thing. One of our grandsons was making his boppy monkey. He is two and was saying good bye to his pacifiers. It was very cute. Grammy even made one. The kids had a great time!

Personalized golf balls

Our youngest son is getting married next month. He has asked his dad to be best man. Thought that was really neat. So being best man, dad is heading up the bachelor party. The guys are all going out golfing. It should be an awesome time for them. I thought personalized golf balls would be a great idea. Us ladies will be back at the farm planing a grill out!

Monday, April 30, 2012


It's that time of year again. The masses flee for the swimming pools. The hot weather brings out that urge for water. There is upkeep for these water parks. I'm sure they are using someraypak pool supplies. When we're swimming, we're usually not thinking about all it takes to keep things running.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

H&R Block Coupons

I love shopping. I've learned that there are sites that can help me to save even more. Whether its h&r block coupons or another type of saving, it's great to find a coupon to knock off some of the expense. I'm always looking for free shipping as well as a discount.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

American Idol

The article written by Geraldo Russo

My dad loves to watch American Idol. He says it is awesome because you are having the chance to watch someone make his or her dreams come true. I had never really thought about it in that sense before, but when he said that, I understood what he meant. American Idol is such a great concept because it gives everyday people the chance to pursue their dreams. We have satellite TV from, and twice a week we tune in to see the performances and the resulting eliminations. This is the first season that I have voted for a contestant although we have been fans of the show for years. There is one guy this year who I think is simply amazing. It is crazy to think that without American Idol, tremendously talented individuals would have possibly never had the chance to pursue a career in the music industry. It is possible that somewhere a waiter or a mechanic is going to make millions selling records because of American Idol. It is awesome that there is an avenue for people to pursue their dreams. Seeing the performers every week is like watching someone live out what they have always wanted to do.

Saturday, April 14, 2012

Airbrush Makeup

Times are sure changing. Now there is airbrush makeup and also airbrush tanning. With all of the scare of cancer from tanning, it makes me think that this type of tanning might be the way to go. They are saying that the sun is not safe for our skin now a days and to be sure to wear sunblock when being outdoors. With my son's wedding quickly approaching, I may have to check into this.


Well, here we are in the warm and dry house while the gentle rain is falling outside. It is a very welcomed rain too. I do have to say that we are needing some grass seed after my husband sprayed the yard. He used the same sprayer for both weed killer and also grass killer. Oops. Big mistake on his part. We did buy some seed and fertilizer but have yet to apply it.

Monday, March 26, 2012

Parade Fun

My oldest son and his son Israel were waiting for the Saint Patty's Day parade to start. Luckily we have been having unseasonably warm weather for this time of year. The grass has already greened up.

Removable pool fence

Do you ever wonder if it can be dangerous to have pools open to the public when staying at a hotel/motel? Most have some type of removable pool fence. I have even found that I can't enter unless I have my room key with me. I think that's probably a good idea. Hate to see a problem or accident happen.

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Week of technical difficulties

This guest post from Lewis Beck

Ever since the kids had a bunch of projects they could not work on because our Internet kept going out, I have been considering getting direct tv internet set up at our house. I have heard that it is pretty reliable, especially for where we live. That was such an ordeal. The kids both had science fair projects that were due the same week. Of course, they put them off until the last minute so that we were panicked trying to do experiments, research and reports almost all in one week. On top of that, when we finally got to the part where the kids needed to do the research and actually sit down and write the report, we just had problem after problem first with our computer and then with the Internet. Needless to say, it was a rough week for the family. I told the kids we could never have that type of situation again and that included the technical issues we had. Hopefully if I switch, I can avoid things like the Internet cutting out every few minutes when my kids are frantically trying to find useful information! What a week that was!

Friday, March 16, 2012


So you don't get much better then this when it comes to March weather! The sun is shinning and the temps are verging 80 degrees! The breeze is softly blowing and the smells of spring are in the air. Zoe my dog is also enjoying her time spent outdoors. I think we're going to have to go for a walk.

Church Chair

My husband and I decided to move last fall after thirty years in the same small community. In buying a new home we thought it was time for a new look. Have you ever seen where a person has purchased a church chair and had it in an entryway? I think that looks awesome. We are still in the midst of setting up house, but it's coming a long. I think we're going to like it here.

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Nursing Uniforms

For many years I've worked in the medical field. When I first started out we were able to wear white slacks and any color top we wanted too. Then we wore lab coats. Now we all wear the same colors each day. Wearing nursing uniforms sure makes it easy to get ready in the morning. I'm thankful for that!

Friday, February 17, 2012


I was do for an eye check and finally set up an appointment. I decided to try a different clinic this time. They were very helpful. I don't think I have ever had my eyes dilated to the point they were. My husband was so surprised when he saw me that he thought he needed to take a picture of me that way. Glasses can be hard to find. Decisions Decisions..... Persol glasses have a lot to offer. It's picking out that style that compliments you as an individual. I'm glad I have that all done for another year.


Our grandson Emry recently had his 4th Birthday! His momma made such a cute cake! Emry loves robots so she came up with this idea. Pretty cool huh?!

Model Kits

Growing up I can remember watching my brothers work on model cars. I always thought they looked so neat. The detail was so great! When I met my husband he also had an interest in that. So our son's grew, we exposed them to different model kits. The detail has come a long way today. The vehicles can turn out looking so awesome!

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Will I ever have my credit card paid off?

Thanks to Roman May

Has your credit card bill ever just snuck up on you? Recently, I have felt like I keep paying and paying on mine, and the balance falls ever so slightly. I have made up my mind that I am NOT putting anything on the credit card anymore, unless it is an emergency. I feel like I have been paying on it so long, I have forgotten what I put on the credit card in the first place. I really think that my balance stays at one thousand dollars every month even though I have been trying to pay as much on it as I can. I used to put everything on the credit card: groceries, electrcity rates bill, cable, and gas. I thought that I was doing good, because I was getting rewards points. The rewards points that I have earned by putting things on the credit card are definitely NOT worth the amount of interest that I have ended up paying. I really just don’t know how the credit card got out of hand. I was good about paying it off every month. Now, I feel like I am drowning in debt. I should have listened to my mother and not used it unless it was absolutely necessary!

Sunday, February 12, 2012

New Car

We have never owned a brand new car. We have always purchased good used vehicles with lower miles on them. Some have even had warranty left on them. I know some people buy new cars but I just don't think it is worth the extra money. I guess it is good that we have different ideas. I think we will continue to buy used.

Friday, February 10, 2012

Beginner guitar lessons

Isn't it interesting how different children can be. In raising three ourselves, we watched each one of them follow their individual dreams. Our youngest son enjoyed cars and music. He took a great interest in guitars. From beginner guitar lessons to wanting to make his own guitar, it was fun to watch. He taught himself much of what he knows today.

Friday, February 3, 2012

Welding Cable

A few years ago my husband's father passed away. He owned a gas station and plumbing business at the time. While cleaning out things we ran across a very old welding machine. It even had welding cable with it. My youngest son was very fascinated by it. At the time he was taking some tool and dye classes and felt it could fit into what he was doing. It's was good to know that you could purchase items for a welder.

Old Movies

I think we all have favorite movies. I enjoy some of the old time movies. We have many great movies in a couple large cases and every once in awhile we pull one out to watch. Some of them we have watched many times. We have family and friends that borrow them too. There are many great newer movies too but some of my favorites are the old ones.

Monday, January 23, 2012

Epiphone Explorer Bass

As our youngest son grew, we found he had a variety of interests. He had a love for music and began to teach him self how to play the guitar. There were many he was interested in. Some I hadn't even heard of before, such as the epiphone explorer bass. He enjoyed the Fender Guitars also. It was amazing to watch him grow as he learned. He still enjoys it to this day.

Monday, January 16, 2012


Contribution by Saul Martin

Yesterday was one of the laziest days that I have had in a long time. My husband had to go to work at five in the morning, so I got up with him and stayed up. I drank coffee, got back in the bed, and flipped on the Dish. I started watching “Vampire Diaries”. Season two was playing and I had already seen season one. By the time it was eight o’clock, I had already watched three episodes and was onto my forth. I decided to eat a little breakfast and let the dog out. I hopped back in the bed. Finally at one o’clock, I started worrying about everything that I hadn’t done that day. I had been sitting in the bed, avoiding all of the work that I needed to be doing, and watching a teenie bopper show! I could just imagine my husband walking in unexpectedly and laughing when he saw what I had been up to all day. I told myself I was just going to watch one more episode. I finally got up and at them at two o’clock. Sometimes it is nice to just stay in the bed and watch some television.


We have done some remodeling in the last two homes we have owned. Right now, in fact, we are in the process of changing some things in our house. Many of the light fixtures really weren't what I wanted so we did install some new ones. I have always been one to change switchplates too. There are some very unique ones and many styles and colors too.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Gas Prices

It is sad that we think gas prices of just under $3 is a good thing. I know that it has been much higher but $3 gas is not good. My hope is that it goes down under $2. Will it happen? I really don't know but I would love it. It makes me wonder what, or who, is keeping gas prices high. Is it just a political deal? What do you think?

Monday, January 9, 2012


It is pretty awesome that we are having this great weather and it is January. People are wondering what is up with the warmth during a winter month. I don't mind at all. My opinion has been that once January rolls around, winter is mostly over. We don't even have snow on the ground. A few weeks ago we got over half a foot of snow but thankfully it is gone now. It keeps attitudes much better for me and others too.


My husband is always so good about going shopping with me. Though the years he has enjoyed stopping in at the local radioshack. He seems to find some great specials there. There is such a variety of products. They have radios, speakers, TV mounts and more. We feel they can be quite competitive which is nice. They have been around for years and continue to go strong.